Montréal

At the end of February, there was a group trip to Montréal and my friends and I decided to take the opportunity to finally make it up to the wonderful city. We basically played tourist for a day and took a thousand photos and yes, took photos of our food. But come on, look at that burger how could you not take a picture of that masterpiece! Montréal has a beautiful mix of cobblestone, French colonial neighbourhoods to modern, bumping neighbourhoods that make you feel like you’re inside a hipster tumblr blog.

My friends and I managed to make it up Mt. Royal (without falling on the ice) and then we went for lunch at Burger Royal. They honestly have the best burgers I have ever sunk my teeth into (I’d like to apologize to all the vegetarians and vegans that cringed at that sentence). I had the Hangover burger with Monterey jack cheese, caramelized onions, an egg, bacon, tomato, lettuce, spicy mayo and honey mustard. I’m no food expert, but I give that burger a solid 10/10! They also have vegetarian and gluten-free substitutions and although I haven’t tried them, I’ve heard that they’re pretty great too.

Moving on from the burger talk, there are also plenty of small shops around the restaurant so you can walk and shop your way out of a food coma! The small shops are very similar to the ones that you would find in Kensington Market in Toronto. Basically, it’s expensive vintage. Being a student who’s already drowning in loans, I had to restrain myself from buying any of the cute wool sweaters or denim jackets. The stores all had amazing quality products and items that I already have a jar for extra change set up so when I go back, I’ll have a bit of spending money! After browsing and slowing recovering from our food coma, we continued walking down towards Old Montréal where we came across beautiful building murals and bakeries.

Then finally, after getting a little mixed up in the crowd in Chinatown, we made it to Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal. The inside left me breathless. The beautiful blues, purples and golds just lit of the front of the cathedral and all the woodwork was incredibly detailed. Due to my lack of a proper camera, I wasn’t able to zoom up on the wood detailing. We sat for a while and just basked in the glow of the candle and sunlight against the gold before realizing we only had half an hour to walk back to the bus. We only had 5 hours for exploring so we didn’t get very far and see half as much as we wanted to, however, it was still a fantastic day. I hope you all have a lovely day and I’ll speak to you soon!

Leave a comment